Monday, August 3, 2009

ACC Time Capsule: NC State's 1956 ACC Championship

In 1956, the NC State Wolfpack solidified themselves as the king of the ACC, winning their third straight ACC title. The Pack entered the '56 ACC Tournament as the #1 seed after going 11-3 in conference play. NC State's victims in the tourney were Clemson in the Quarter-finals (88-84), Duke in the Semi-finals (91-79) and Wake Forest in the Finals (76-64). The Wolfpack had three players make the All-Tournament Team, with Vic Molodet and John Maglio making the 1st team and Ronnie Shavlik making the 2nd team. Molodet walked off with the MVP award with numbers that people only put up on PS3. His tournament averages were 26.3 points and 14.7 rebounds per game. Ronnie Shavlik also created ACC history when he became the first player to earn consensus All-American in the conference's brief history. Shavlik also earned the ACC Player of the Year award after averaging 18.2 points and 19.5 rebounds (7th in the nation) on the year. Ronnie Shavlik and Vic Molodet were both selected to the All-ACC 1st team.

1956 was a big year for the ACC. For the first time, the ACC had four teams to finished ranked in the final AP poll. NC State topped the list finishing 2nd in the nation, while UNC (15th), Wake Forest (18th) and Duke (19th) also made the cut.

NC State went on to represent the ACC in the NCAA tournament and lost to Canisius in the first round of the tourney. To this day, many consider this game to be one of the Top-10 biggest upsets in the history of the NCAA tournament. It also holds a record for the most overtimes in tournament history as well with four. After four extra periods, the Pack fell 79-78.


0 Responses to "ACC Time Capsule: NC State's 1956 ACC Championship"

Copyright 2009 All Rights Reserved Revolution Two Church theme by Brian Gardner | Blogger template converted & enhanced by eBlog Templates